[OPE] Great inventions & Alternative Nobel prize

From: Alejandro Agafonow (alejandro_agafonow@yahoo.es)
Date: Sat Mar 08 2008 - 10:25:43 EST

I thought we were talking about economic or policy inventions.
We should take a look at The Ig Nobel Prizes (achievements that first make people laugh, and then make them think) http://improbable.com/ig/
Some Nobel prizes in economics better match here.
Of course, we have to consider seriously the alternative Nobel prize: The Right Livelihood Award http://www.rightlivelihood.org/
It is granted to several issues but the laureates in economics are:

Citizens' Coalition For Economic Justice, CCEJ (South Korea) 
”...for its rigorous wide-ranging reform programme, based on economic and social justice, accountability and reconciliation with North Korea.”
Sekem / Ibrahim Abouleish (Egypt) 
”...for a 21st century business model which combines commercial success with social and cultural development.”

Herman Daly (USA) 
Honorary Award
”...for defining a path of ecological economics that integrates the key elements of ethics, quality of life, environment and community.”

Edward Goldsmith (UK) 
Honorary Award
”...for his uncompromising critique of industrialism and promotion of environmentally sustainable and socially just alternatives to it.”

Alice Tepper Marlin (USA) 
Honorary Award
”...for showing the direction in which the Western economy must develop to promote the well-being of humanity.”

Seikatsu Club Consumers' Cooperative (Japan) 
Honorary Award
”...for creating the most successful, sustainable model of production and consumption in the industrialised world.”

Frances Moore Lappé / Institute for Food and Development Policy (USA) 
”...for revealing the political and economic causes of world hunger and how citizens can help to remedy them.”

Ladakh Ecological Development Group (India) 
”...for preserving the traditional culture and values of Ladakh against the onslaught of tourism and development.”

Self-Employed Women's Association / Ela Bhatt (India) 
”...for helping home-based producers to organise for their welfare and self-respect.”

Leopold Kohr (Austria) Honorary Award
”...for his early inspiration of the movement for a human scale.”
Amory and Hunter Lovins (USA) 
"...for pioneering soft energy paths for global security."
Manfred Max-Neef (Chile) 
“…for revitalising small and medium-sized communities through ‘Barefoot Economics’.”

Erik Dammann / The Future in Our Hands (Norway) 
Honorary Award
"...for challenging Western values and lifestyles in order to promote a more responsible attitude to the environment and the third world."
Anwar Fazal (Malaysia) 
”...for fighting for the rights of consumers and helping them to do the same.”

Mike Cooley (UK) 
”...for designing and promoting the theory and practice of human-centred, socially useful production.”
Kind regards,
Alejandro Agafonow

Enviado desde Correo Yahoo!
Disfruta de una bandeja de entrada más inteligente. http://es.docs.yahoo.com/mail/overview/index.html

ope mailing list

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.5 : Mon Mar 31 2008 - 00:00:14 EDT