[OPE-L:8236] Havana conference: 5-8 May

From: michael a. lebowitz (mlebowit@sfu.ca)
Date: Thu Dec 26 2002 - 00:34:28 EST

Dear Friends and Comrades,
	Attached (this time it should open!) is an announcement of a conference 
next May in Havana which I have been helping to organise. The theme, "Karl 
Marx and the Challenges of the 21st Century," is one that should interest 
listmembers, and the hope is to have papers distributed in advance and a 
series of continuing panels ('commissions') which maximise discussion among 
	Among those who have already indicated their intention to present papers 
are Greg Albo, Robert Albritton, Samir Amin, Patrick Bond, Werner Bonefeld, 
Paul Burkett, Alexander Buzgalin, Al Campbell, Paresh Chattopadhyay, Simon 
Clarke, Han Deqiang, Heinz Dieterich, Elizabeth Dore, Gerard Dumenil, 
Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Helio Gallardo, Marta Harnecker, Martin 
Hart-Landsberg, Remy Herrara, John Holloway, Francois Houtard, David Kotz, 
Georges Labica, Michael Lebowitz, Hein Marais, Terrance McDonough, Istvan 
Meszaros, Dimitri Milonakis, Simon Mohun, Fred Moseley, Trevor Ngwane, Leo 
Panitch, James Petras, Robert Pollin, Richard Westra and Brigitte Young.
	If you are interested in presenting, unfortunately there is a relatively 
short deadline that has been set (although there may be some flexibility-- 
in Cuba there generally is). Another possibility is to serve as a paper 
discussant; if you are interested in this (or have any other specific 
questions ), write to me with a copy to Nchamah Miller 
<secretariat@cubaconfmarx21.com>, indicating the subject area you would prefer.
	Also, could you please circulate this to any other lists where you think 
this conference will be of interest. Thanks.
		in solidarity,

Michael A. Lebowitz
Economics Department
Simon Fraser University
Burnaby, B.C., Canada V5A 1S6
Office: Phone (604) 291-4669
          Fax   (604) 291-5944
Home: (604) 689-9510 [NOTE CHANGE]
Lasqueti Island: (250) 333-8810

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.5 : Sat Dec 28 2002 - 00:00:00 EST